What can a globalized monetary system learn from the coinages of the Viking Age?

Symposium “Mynt, makt och människor – vikingatidens silverpenningar“, Royal Coin Cabinet, Stockholm, March 27th, 2010: “Vad kan ett globaliserat penningsystem lära av vikingatidens myntväsende?

Abstract

At first sight, it might be strange to ask what a globalised monetary system can learn from Viking Age coinages. For sure, too much time seems to have elapsed since then?

However, not everybody does share this opinion. Benjamin J. Cohen at the University of California, Santa Barbara, is one of them. He delves into International Political Economy and has brought forward the following, in my opinion highly convincing, idea:

The contemporary economy is exceedingly globalised, a fact that one can’t get around no matter what one likes it or not. Monetary payment is executed throughout the world, without even taking notice of national borders. This results in a substantial loss of function of the nation state. Monetary value is guaranteed by law, and law is only valid within the geographically carefully defined borders of the respective countries.

If one agrees with this consideration, it is only natural to conlude that it is necessary to look back into distant history in order to understand the future. More precisely, one has to concern oneself with the epoch before the 16th century, that is before Jean Bodin formulated his theory of sovereignty.

One of the few trading systems that was by and large globalised was that of the Viking Age. Hence, it seems only sequacious to take a closer look at the functional principle of the Viking Age coinages. For instance, what effects did the possibility to choose between the first “own” Swedish coins and a huge number of “foreign” Anglo-Saxon, Arabic and German coins have? And what opinion might Friedrich August von Hayek have had on that? As is well-known, he advocated a private production of money, where the competition between the private coinages would lead to the lowest possible rate of inflation. Hayek published this idea in a fundamental article called “choice in currency”.

This is only one example of a connecting factor between Viking Age and the present, but hopefully it will do to illustrate the approach of this lecture.

Bookmark and Share

Was kann ein globalisiertes Währungssystem vom Münzwesen der Wikingerzeit lernen?

Symposium „Mynt, makt och människor – vikingatidens silverpenningar“, Königliches Münzkabinett, Stockholm, 27. März 2010: „Vad kan ett globaliserat penningsystem lära av vikingatidens myntväsende?

Abstract

Die Frage, was ein globalisiertes Währungssystem vom Geldwesen der Wikingerzeit lernen könne, mag zunächst etwas merkwürdig erscheinen. Gewiß ist seither etwas arg viel Zeit vergangen?

Allerdings denken nicht alle so. Benjamin J. Cohen an der Universität von Kalifornien in Santa Barbara ist einer davon. Er beschäftigt sich mit International Political Economy und hat den folgenden, wie mir scheint sehr überzeugenden, Gedanken vorgebracht:

Die Wirtschaft ist heutzutage in hohem Maße globalisiert, eine Tatsache, an der man nicht vorbeikommt, egal ob man sie schätzt oder nicht. Geldzahlungen werden über die ganze Welt hinweg ausgeführt, ohne Rücksicht auf nationale Grenzen zu nehmen. Dies hat einen wesentlichen Funktionsverlust des Staates zur Folge. Der Geldwert wird bekanntlich von Gesetzen garantiert, und diese gelten ausschließlich innerhalb der sorgsam defienierten geographischen Grenzen der verschiedenen Länder.

Wer dieser Überlegung zustimmt, kommt schnell zu dem Schluß, daß man weit in die Geschichte zurückgehen muß, um die Zukunft zu verstehen. Genauer gesagt hat man sich mit den Epochen vor Jean Bodin zu befassen, der im 16. Jahrhundert die Souveränitätslehre formulierte.

Eines der wenigen im großen und ganzen globalisierten Handelssysteme, das vor dieser Zeit existierte, ist dasjenige der Wikingerzeit. Es erscheint mithin nur folgerichtig, die Funktionsweise des wikingerzeitlichen Münzwesens näher zu untersuchen. Welche Auswirkungen hatte etwa das Phänomen, daß man frei zwischen den ersten „eigenen“ schwedischen Münzen und einer großen Anzahl angelsächsischer, arabischer und deutscher Münzen wählen konnte? Und was hätte Friedrich August von Hayek dazu gesagt? Bekanntermaßen befürwortete er eine private Geldproduktion, wobei die Konkurrenz zwischen den Privatwährungen zu einer besonders niedrigen Inflationsrate führen sollte. „Choice in currency“ heißt ein grundlegender Beitrag, den Hayek in diesem Zusammenhang veröffentlichte.

Dies ist nur ein Beispiel für Anknüpfungspunkte zwischen Wikingerzeit und Gegenwart, doch mag es zur Illustrierung der Zielrichtung des Vortrages genügen.

Bookmark and Share